News

Stories

The Special Spirit of the Next Einstein Forum

In Kigali, the Next Einstein Forum initiative recently hosted the largest science conference in Africa to date. What does this conference mean to African scientists?  

Read more

Thinking Tomorrow’s Society

Are we really the best? Heated and respectful, combative and constructive dialog at the Leipzig Book Fair.

Read more

New German-Arab Film Ideas and Young Talent

With imaginative and creative ideas, the 2018 winners comment on current political and social topics.

Read more

What Does the Job of an Islamic Affairs Consultant Entail?

His job is unique in all of Germany: Hussein Hamdan reports on his daily routine.

Read more

Viewpoints: Does Society Need New Solutions?

A transformation researcher and a social entrepreneur provide answers.

Read more

Textbook on the Smartphone

When does digital schooling work? Eight students offer their opinions.

Read more

What Can Be Done to Combat Online Hate Speech?

To see the right way to combat online hate speech, click through our examples.

Read more

Hiba Obaid: The Writer of Clear Words

Hiba Obaid fled from Syria. Now, she’s participating in an internship program in Berlin aimed at promoting integration.

Read more

Salma Jreige: The Museum Guide

Syrian Salma Jreige introduces new Berliners to German history.

Read more

Larry Macaulay: The Radio Founder

With his radio project, Larry Macaulay gives refugees a voice.

Read more

"The City Concerns Us All"

Urbanization is and continues to be a megatrend: Over two billion more people will live in cities by 2055. However, the design of these cities remains uncertain. On the occasion of the World Cities Day on October 31, this year’s theme being "Innovative Governance, Open Cities," architect and urban planner Vanessa Miriam Carlow talks about her "Open City" project and her vision of sustainable urban development.

Read more

How Can Refugees Participate in Politics?

In the last six years, the number of refugees worldwide has more than doubled. The integration of these people is a much discussed topic in many countries. How can refugees themselves participate in political life? Lina Antara explains how a global research project looks at the possibilities and limits of political participation.

Read more

"I Am Not a Slave to My Illness"

Around 40 percent of people in Germany are affected by chronic disease – an increasing trend that includes conditions such as asthma, rheumatism, diabetes, and mental illnesses. In most cases, those affected simply cannot carry on as before; they have to make changes in their life. They can find out how to make these changes successful as part of the INSEA self-management program.

Read more

"The Progress of Seven Decades Is Now in Peril"

The transatlantic partnership is increasingly being called into question by nationalist and divisive forces in both American and European politics and society. New impulses and analyses are needed to reinforce transatlantic cooperation. This is the main objective of the "Brookings - Robert Bosch Foundation Transatlantic Initiative". Brookings' president Strobe Talbott explains, why the initiative could not be more timely.

Read more

"We Don’t Even Know What Dreams They Have"

Germany has been debating about what the correct refugee policy is since 2015. However, the people affected are rarely afforded the opportunity to share their side of the story. Chamisso Prize winner Abbas Khider therefore made the main character of his latest novel a refugee. In an interview, Khider explained the message of his book - and what the current social division in Germany has in common with a marital crisis.

Read more

"Technology Can Go Both Ways"

Governments and companies collect an extensive amount of information about us and our Internet usage. Do the opportunities that Big Data presents justify an invasion into our privacy? At the Global Governance Futures dialog forum, young international professionals map out future scenarios and discuss the ethical use of technology.

Read more

Foundation for Peace

War and conflict leave their mark on a society long after the fighting has ended. And it is often underestimated how important the process of reconciliation after the conflict is. At the "Berlin Seminar: Truth, Justice, and Remembrance," participants from more than 15 countries around the world come together to converse with German experts and visit local memorial sites.

Read more

A Fresh Breeze in the East

With unconventional ideas the Land Reclaimers shape their environment and enhance the local population’s living conditions. 20 new projects have now started in Eastern Germany and strengthen the civil society in rural areas. In a new think tank the Land Reclaimers take it one step further.

Read more

Getting to Know and Understand India

Journalist Fabian Kretschmer (left) spent three months in India as a participant in a program of the Robert Bosch Stiftung. In an interview, he talks about the first female bus driver in Delhi, the status of freedom of the press in India, and why national stereotypes are sometimes a necessary evil.

Read more

Engaging with Ukraine

In order to return to a life of peaceful coexistence, the people in Ukraine need a strong civil society - and the attention of the West. The training program Ukraine Calling helps German participants to establish contacts within the country. They organize youth encounters, strengthen minorities, and support independent journalists.

Read more

"There Can Never Be Too Many Foundations!"

Eva Madelung can look back on an eventful life. Robert Bosch’s youngest daughter has worked as a family therapist, published several books, and started the foundation today named the Heidehof Stiftung. She is celebrating her 85th birthday on December 10, 2016. The video profile tells us more about her philanthropic activities, her childhood during the Nazi regime, and her relationship with her father.

Read more

"Islamic Affairs Consultants to Become an Institution"

What can be done when every call to prayer from the muezzin is followed by a complaint about disturbing the peace? For two years, communities have been able to call Hussein Hamdan in instances like these. Hamdan is an Islamic Affairs Consultant and mediates between communities and their Muslim populations. In an interview, he takes stock and reports on what is next.

Read more

Promoting Talents, Giving Opportunities

In Germany, the educational success of young people is still too often dependent on the socioeconomic status of their parents. School students from disadvantaged families constantly lag far behind their possibilities. Therefore we support gifted, devoted and socially involved 7th- to 12th-graders to work towards their school-leaving examination.

Read more

"Democratization is not an All-Use-Medicine"

Terrorism is not a problem of individual countries anymore and crosses national borders. How will transnational terrorism change in the next years and what can be done against it? Young leaders deal with this issue in the dialog forum "Global Governance Futures" and develop future scenarios.

Read more

How Can We Strengthen Social Cohesion in Europe?

Federal President Gauck hosted the fellows of the Bellevue Programme in Berlin. The young executives from the highest national agencies will work in the administration of a European partner country for a period of one year. They embody and will shape collaboration in Europe. What do they think of the current EU crises caused by the Brexit referendum and increased immigration?

Read more

Experiencing the Meaning of Europe

Many young people from the Western Balkans have never been abroad, they only know their neighboring countries and the EU from recounts. With the program "Travel to Europe", they get to know Europe first-hand - abstract ideas about European social cohesion become personal experiences.

Read more

"You Are the Present and Future of the Balkans"

How appealing is the EU in times of crises to countries of the Western Balkans? During a discussion, 120 students from the Balkans agreed with politicians, academics, and media representatives: joining the EU would have many advantages for the countries - and for them personally as well. Starting in Berlin, the students now travel through the countries of the EU for the first time.

Read more

Strengthening Inclusion Right from the Start

The willingness to voluntarily work with refugees has never been as great as it currently is, new initiatives in Germany are set up more quickly than ever. A chance but also an enormous challenge for the sector of civil society. How the work for and with refugees can succeed was the focus of the symposium "integration means participation".

Read more

The Magazine "Solidarity"

The various groups in our society can come together or drift apart. At the moment, we can see this happening with the topic of refugees but solidarity affects us in ways that go beyond the refugee question. No matter in which area, we always need people who push for solidarity. You will learn about some of these dedicated individuals in this magazine.

Read more

An Indian View of Germany

Are topics from Germany interesting for Indian journalists? G. Sampath from the Indian newspaper The Hindu is spending a three month stay in Germany. In the interview, he tells how the German and Indian media landscapes differ and why he finds the topic of refugees fascinating.

Read more

"Diseases Do Not Know National Borders"

Diseases, terrorism, data security - many challenges cannot be solved on a national level anymore. During the dialog forum Global Governance Futures, young professionals from Germany, USA, China, Japan, and India talked about global problems and developed scenarios for the future.

Read more

Media Forum China - Germany

German and Chinese media representatives met in the ancient Chinese imperial city Xi'an and discussed about current political issues and specific challenges of the media industry. During a three-day study tour the German participants got a look behind the scenes of the archeological research center of the terra-cotta army and tested modern electric cars.

Read more

United World College’s First Year Pioneers Graduate

102 students from 71 countries all over the world came to Freiburg two years ago to study at Germany’s first United World College. The first year students have now successfully graduated. Their plans for the future: study in the United States, carry out volunteer work or do their bit in their home countries.

Read more

Answering Hate with Humor

In online commentary sections when it comes to emotionally charged topics like refugees and asylum, you often find hardened fronts and insults that are full of hate - so called hatespeech. How can you react to that? At the TINCON, the first festival for digital youth culture, youngsters and YouTubers found an answer: with humor.

Read more

Proposals for a Realignment of Refugee Policy

The Robert Bosch Expert Commission to Consider a Realignment of Refugee Policy presents its final report after one year. In the report the representatives of politics, economy, and society draw up concrete proposals that address current needs and help politicians in a neutral advisory capacity.

Read more

Africa in the Scientific Spotlight

Will the next Einstein come from Africa? Many young African scientists only wait for their turn to take the global scientific stage. A first opportunity to do just that was the Next Einstein Forum of the Robert Bosch Stiftung because in order to unfold the scientific potential of the continent, Africa needs more than clever minds.

Read more

"Ukraine Calling is worth its weight in gold, even for German society"

"Only those who are familiar with the situation in Ukraine can truly help Ukraine," says Alexander Wöll, president of European University Viadrina. But, to this point, expertise in Germany regarding Ukraine has only been marginal. That is why, together with the Robert Bosch Stiftung, European University Viadrina is launching the Ukraine Calling educational program for decision-makers from the worlds of politics, media, economics, and civil society.

Read more

Refugees Take Matters into Their Own Hands

Much is being said about the refugees; now they are speaking up for themselves. At the International Conference of Refugees and Migrants in Hamburg, those affected spoke about asylum laws, the situation at the borders, self-organization, and sexism. They shared personal experiences and made clear demands of society and politics.

Read more

The Next Einstein Will Come from Africa

The Robert Bosch Stiftung highlighted Africa’s research potential for the first time with the Next Einstein Forum. One of the attendees was young Kenyan researcher Evelyn Gitau. She hopes to develop affordable diagnostic tools that African clinics can use on a daily basis, which could save countless lives.

Read more

The Film Prize for International Cooperation

The Film Prize for International Cooperation for young filmmakers from Germany and the Arab world was awarded at Berlinale Talents 2016. The concepts in the genres animation, documentary, and short film will be implemented in Germany and the partner country this year.

Read more

Transatlantic Strategy Group "Constructing a New Western Ostpolitik"

How can the West reach a new consensus on policy regarding the East? The Transatlantic Strategy Group, that includes foreign policy and security experts, presented strategy recommendations to an audience of European, American, and Russian guests at a panel during the Munich Security Conference.

Read more

Short Film Ave Maria Nominated for an Oscar

The comedy Ave Maria is among the five nominees for an Academy Award in the category Short Film (Live Action). The film was realized with the support of the Film Prize of the Robert Bosch Stiftung for International Cooperation. The prize gives young German and Arab filmmakers the opportunity to work on a joint project.

Read more

Aktuelles

Storys

Ein Netzwerk aus Deutschlandkennern und Brückenbauern

Wie beurteilen unsere Fellows aus den USA die aktuellen transatlantischen Beziehungen?

Weiterlesen

„Wir vertreten keine politischen Positionen, sondern die Menschen“

Der indische Journalist Chaitanya Marpakwar beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie gegen Fake News vorgegangen werden kann.

Weiterlesen

„Wir haben keine Angst vor unseren Träumen“

Eine junge, energiegeladene Generation will Afrika verändern - beispielsweise mit Drohnen für die Landwirtschaft.

Weiterlesen

Wissenschaft für alle Sinne

Das Festival Silbersalz macht Wissenschaft für jeden erlebbar - auch für Sie mit unserer multimedialen Aufbereitung!

Weiterlesen

Shared Reading – Literatur für alle

Wo unterhalten sich Menschen über große Literatur? Beispielsweise beim „Shared Reading“.

Weiterlesen

Vergangenheitsbewältigung in Ruanda: Der Weg der Vergebung

Das Dorf Mbyo bringt Täter und Opfer des Völkermords in Ruanda zusammen.

Weiterlesen

"Die Zukunft gehört uns!"

Auch im digitalen Zeitalter geht es Jugendlichen besonders um eins: die aktive Mitgestaltung der Gesellschaft.

Weiterlesen

"Betrachten wir Flüchtlinge doch einmal als potenzielle Unternehmer"

Die zukünftige Weltordnung, die globale Migrations- und Flüchtlingskrise und die Rolle von Städten in der Weltordnungspolitik – das sind die Themen des diesjährigen Dialogforums Global Governance Futures, GGF 2030.

Weiterlesen

Das andere Weiße Haus der USA

Fellows aus Deutschland beleben das Thomas Mann Haus in Los Angeles als Ort für Begegnung und Austausch.

Weiterlesen

Heim, Heimat, Heimaten

Über den Begriff „Heimat“ wird heftig diskutiert. Exiljournalisten aus Syrien, Afghanistan und Ägypten schreiben über ihre Erfahrungen.

Weiterlesen

Im Dialog mit Russland

Während der Fußball-WM schaut die ganze Welt nach Russland. Eine Chance für den Dialog.

Weiterlesen

Wie kann der Artenschutz in Afrika gelingen?

Die Umweltwissenschaftlerin Dr. Jacqueline Loos will Interessenskonflikte zwischen Naturschutz und lokaler Bevölkerungen lösen. 

Weiterlesen

Besser leben in Metropolen in China und Deutschland

Ein Blick in die Stadt der Zukunft: Teilnehmer des Programms Stadtmacher China-Deutschland haben in Berlin ihre Projekte vorgestellt.

Weiterlesen

Der besondere Spirit des Next Einstein Forums

Das NEF ist die bislang größte Wissenschaftskonferenz Afrikas. Was bedeutet diese Konferenz für afrikanische Wissenschaftler?

Weiterlesen

Denk-Raum für Europa

Sind wir wirklich die Besten? Hitzige und respektvolle Diskussionen über Europa auf der Leipziger Buchmesse.

Weiterlesen

Neue deutsch-arabische Filmideen und Talente

Die diesjährigen Gewinner des Filmförderpreises erzählen Geschichten rund um Fußball, Flucht und Großmütter.

Weiterlesen

Was macht eigentlich ein Islamberater?

In Deutschland ist sein Job einmalig: Hussein Hamdan berichtet aus seinem Alltag.

Weiterlesen

Standpunkte: Braucht die Gesellschaft neue Lösungen?

Eine Transformationsforscherin und ein Sozialunternehmer geben Antworten.

Weiterlesen

Das Schulbuch auf dem Smartphone

Wann funktioniert digitaler Unterricht? Acht Schüler geben Antworten. 

Weiterlesen

Was tun gegen Hassrede im Netz?

Hassrede im Netz richtig begegnen: Klicken Sie sich durch unsere Beispiele.

Weiterlesen

Hiba Obaid: Die Klartextschreiberin

Hiba Obaid floh aus Syrien. Nun macht sie in Berlin ein Integrationsvolontariat.

Weiterlesen

Salma Jreige: Die Museumsführerin

Die Syrerin Salma Jreige zeigt Neuberlinern die deutsche Geschichte.

Weiterlesen

Larry Macaulay: Der Radiogründer

Larry Macaulay gibt Flüchtlingen mit seinem Radioprojekt eine Stimme.

Weiterlesen

"Stadt geht alle an!"

Urbanisierung ist und bleibt ein Megatrend: 2055 werden zwei Milliarden Menschen mehr in Städten leben als heute. Wie diese Städte aussehen werden ist ungewiss. Anlässlich des Weltstädtetags am 31. Oktober zum Thema "Innovative Governance, Open Cities" spricht Architektin und Stadtplanerin Vanessa Miriam Carlow über ihr Projekt "Offene Stadt" und wie nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung aussehen muss.

Weiterlesen

Wie können sich Flüchtlinge politisch beteiligen?

In den letzten sechs Jahren hat sich die Anzahl der Flüchtlinge weltweit mehr als verdoppelt.Wie können Flüchtlinge selbst am politischen Leben teilnehmen?

Weiterlesen

"Ich bin kein Sklave meiner Krankheit"

In Deutschland sind rund 40 Prozent aller Menschen von einer chronischen Krankheit betroffen - Tendenz steigend. Dazu zählen Asthma, Rheuma, Diabetes oder auch psychische Krankheiten. Meistens können die Betroffenen nicht einfach so weiterleben wie bisher. Sie müssen etwas in ihrem Leben ändern. Wie das erfolgreich gelingt, erfahren sie im Selbstmanagement-Programm INSEA.

Weiterlesen

"Der Fortschritt aus sieben Jahrzehnten ist in Gefahr"

Die amerikanische Denkfabrik The Brookings Institution und die Robert Bosch Stiftung bauen ihre Zusammenarbeit aus. Zum Auftakt erklärt Brookings-Präsident Strobe Talbott, warum gerade jetzt der richtige Zeitpunkt für die "Transatlantic Initiative" ist und was sie leisten soll.

Weiterlesen

"Wir haben keine Ahnung, welche Träume sie haben"

Seit 2015 diskutiert Deutschland über die richtige Flüchtlingspolitik. Die betroffenen Menschen selbst kommen dabei jedoch kaum zu Wort. In seinem aktuellen Roman hat Chamisso-Preisträger Abbas Khider deshalb einen Flüchtling zur Hauptfigur gemacht. Im Interview erklärt Khider die Botschaft seiner Erzählung - und was die gesellschaftliche Spaltung in Deutschland mit einer Ehekrise gemein hat.

Weiterlesen

"Technologie kann sowohl Segen als auch Fluch sein"

Regierungen und Unternehmen sammeln unzählige Informationen über uns und unsere Internetnutzung. Rechtfertigen die darin liegenden Chancen die Eingriffe in unsere Privatsphäre? Beim Dialogforum "Global Governance Futures" entwerfen internationale Nachwuchsführungskräfte Zukunftsszenarien und diskutieren über die ethische Nutzung neuer Technologien.

Weiterlesen

Fundament für den Frieden

Krieg und Konflikt wirken noch lange nach dem Ende der Kämpfe in einer Gesellschaft nach. Wie wichtig die Aufarbeitung von Konflikten ist, wird dabei oft unterschätzt. Beim "Berlin Seminar: Truth, Justice and Remembrance" kommen Teilnehmer aus mehr als 15 Ländern weltweit zusammen, diskutieren mit deutschen Experten und besichtigen hiesige Gedenkstätten.

Weiterlesen

Frischer Wind im Osten

Mit unkonventionellen Ideen engagieren sich die "Neulandgewinner" für die Lebensqualität in ihrer Umgebung. 20 neue Projekte gehen jetzt in Ostdeutschland an den Start und stärken die Zivilgesellschaft im ländlichen Raum. Im neuen Denklabor gehen die "Neulandgewinner" noch einen Schritt weiter.

Weiterlesen

Im Dialog mit der Ukraine

Um zu einem friedlichen Zusammenleben zurückzufinden, braucht die Ukraine eine starke Zivilgesellschaft - und die Unterstützung des Westens. Bei der Weiterbildung "Ukraine Calling" knüpfen deutsche Teilnehmer Kontakte ins Land, organisieren Jugendbegegnungen, stärken Minderheiten und fördern unabhängige Journalisten.

Weiterlesen

Indien kennen und verstehen lernen

Als Stipendiat der Robert Bosch Stiftung hat der Journalist Fabian Kretschmer (l.) mit Kollegen drei Monate in Indien verbracht. Im Interview berichtet er von seinen Erlebnissen.

Weiterlesen

"Es kann nicht genügend Stiftungen geben!"

Eva Madelung blickt auf ein bewegtes Leben zurück. Die jüngste Tochter von Robert Bosch arbeitete als Familientherapeutin, veröffentlichte mehrere Bücher und gründete die heutige Heidehof Stiftung. Aus Anlass ihres 85. Geburtstags erzählt sie im Videoportrait mehr über ihr philanthropisches Engagement, ihre Kindheit zur Zeit des NS-Regimes und das Verhältnis zu ihrem Vater Robert Bosch.

Weiterlesen

"Der Islamberater soll eine Institution werden"

Was tun, wenn die muslimische Gemeinde im Ort eine Moschee errichten will und damit auf den Unmut der Nachbarn stößt? Seit zwei Jahren können Kommunen in einem solchen Fall Hussein Hamdan rufen. Hamdan ist Islamberater und vermittelt zwischen Kommunen und muslimischen Gemeinden. Im Interview zieht er eine Bilanz und berichtet, wie es weitergehen soll.

Weiterlesen

Talente fördern, Chancen geben

In Deutschland hängt der Bildungserfolg junger Menschen viel zu häufig von der sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Lage der Eltern ab. Jugendliche aus benachteiligten Familien bleiben oft hinter ihren Möglichkeiten zurück. Deswegen unterstützen wir begabte Schüler mit dem Stipendium "Talent im Land". In Baden-Württemberg sind jetzt 50 neue Stipendiaten feierlich aufgenommen worden.

Weiterlesen

"Demokratisierung ist kein Allheilmittel"

Terrorismus ist heute längst kein nationales Problem mehr, sondern überschreitet Ländergrenzen. Wie wird sich der grenzüberschreitende Terrorismus verändern und wie muss man ihn bekämpfen? Damit beschäftigen sich Nachwuchsführungskräfte im Dialogforum "Global Governance Futures" und entwickeln Zukunftsszenarien.

Weiterlesen

Wie können wir den Zusammenhalt in Europa stärken?

Bundespräsident Joachim Gauck empfing in Berlin die neuen Stipendiaten des Bellevue-Programms. Die Nachwuchskräfte der obersten Staatsbehörden in Europa arbeiten für ein Jahr in der Verwaltung eines europäischen Partnerlandes mit. Sie leben und gestalten die Zusammenarbeit in Europa. Wie beurteilen sie die aktuelle Krise der EU durch Brexit und Zuwanderung?

Weiterlesen

Erleben, was Europa bedeutet

Viele junge Leute vom Westbalkan waren noch nie im Ausland, ihre Nachbarländer und die EU kennen sie nur aus Berichten. Durch das Programm "Europa erfahren" lernen sie Europa aus erster Hand kennen - aus der abstrakten Idee des europäischen Zusammenhalts werden persönliche Erlebnisse.

Weiterlesen

"Ihr seid die Gegenwart und Zukunft des Balkans"

Wie attraktiv ist die EU in Zeiten der Krisen für die Westbalkanländer? 120 Studenten aus dem Balkan waren sich bei einer Diskussion mit Politikern, Wissenschaftlern und Medienvertretern einig: ein EU-Beitritt hätte viele Vorteile für ihre Länder - und auch für sie persönlich. Jetzt reisen die Studenten von Berlin aus zum ersten Mal selbst in die Länder der EU.

Weiterlesen

Prof. Dr. Christine Langenfeld wechselt an das Bundesverfassungsgericht

Seit seiner Gründung gehörte Prof. Dr. Christine Langenfeld dem Sachverständigenrat deutscher Stiftungen für Migration und Integration an. 2012 übernahm sie den Vorsitz und trug entscheidend dazu bei, den Sachverständigenrat als Stimme der Politikberatung im Themenbereich Integration und Migration zu positionieren. Der Bundesrat wählte Langenfeld jetzt zur Verfassungsrichterin. (Foto: SVR/David Ausserhofer)

Weiterlesen

"Ich arbeite mit Grenzen und gleichzeitig dagegen"

Für die Lyrikerin Uljana Wolf ist ein Wörterbuch genauso spannend wie ein Krimi. Ihre Werke wirbeln Sprachen durcheinander und stellen scheinbar eindeutige Identitäten in Frage. Bei der Lesung im Park sprach die Preisträgerin des Adelbert-von-Chamisso-Preises über ihre Werke und wie die Welt durch Sprache entsteht.

Weiterlesen

Teilhabe von Anfang an ermöglichen

Selten war die Bereitschaft so groß, ein Ehrenamt zu übernehmen, wie aktuell in der Flüchtlingsarbeit. Noch nie entstanden in Deutschland so viele neue Initiativen in so kurzer Zeit. Eine Chance, aber auch eine enorme Herausforderung für den zivilgesellschaftlichen Sektor. Wie die Arbeit für und mit Flüchtlingen gelingen kann, stand im Fokus der Fachtagung "Integration heißt Teilhabe".

Weiterlesen

Medienforum China - Deutschland

In der alten chinesischen Kaiserstadt Xi‘an tauschten sich deutsche und chinesische Medienvertreter zu aktuellen politischen Themen sowie speziellen Herausforderungen der Medienbranche aus. Eine dreitägige Study Tour führte die deutschen Teilnehmer zudem hinter die Kulissen des archäologischen Forschungszentrums der Terrakotta-Armee und in ein modernes Elektroauto.

Weiterlesen

"Krankheitserreger kennen keine Grenzen"

Krankheiten, Terrorismus, Datenschutz - viele Herausforderungen lassen sich heute nicht mehr auf nationaler Ebene lösen. Beim Dialogforum "Global Governance Futures" beschäftigen sich Nachwuchsführungskräfte aus Deutschland, USA, China, Japan und Indien mit globalen Problemen und entwickeln Zukunftsszenarien.

Weiterlesen

Das Magazin "Zusammenhalt"

Die unterschiedlichen Gruppen in unserer Gesellschaft können zusammenfinden oder auseinanderdriften. Ganz aktuell zeigt sich das beim Thema Flüchtlinge. Aber Zusammenhalt beschäftigt uns auch über die Flüchtlingsfrage hinaus. Egal in welchem Bereich, es braucht Menschen, die sich für die Gemeinschaft starkmachen. Einige von ihnen lernen Sie in diesem Magazin kennen.

Weiterlesen

Ein indischer Blick auf Deutschland

Welche Themen aus Deutschland interessieren die Menschen in Indien? Der Journalist G. Sampath verbringt als Stipendiat der Stiftung einen dreimonatigen Arbeitsaufenthalt in Deutschland.

Weiterlesen

Der Pionierjahrgang verlässt das United World College

102 Schüler aus 71 Ländern kamen vor zwei Jahren nach Freiburg, um am ersten United World College Deutschlands die Oberstufe zu absolvieren. Ihren internationalen Abschluss haben die Schüler des ersten Jahrgangs jetzt in der Tasche. Ihre Pläne für die Zukunft: in den USA studieren, einen Freiwilligendienst übernehmen oder einen Beitrag in ihren Heimatländern leisten.

Weiterlesen

Mit Humor gegen Hetze und Hasskommentare

In den Kommentarspalten im Internet finden sich bei emotional aufgeladenen Themen wie Flucht und Asyl oft verhärtete Fronten und Beleidigungen, die voller Hass sind - sogenannte Hatespeech. Wie reagiert man darauf? Auf der TINCON, dem ersten Festival für digitale Jugendkultur, fanden Jugendliche und YouTuber eine Antwort: mit Humor.

Weiterlesen

Reformvorschläge für die deutsche Flüchtlingspolitik

Die Robert Bosch Expertenkommission zur Neuausrichtung der Flüchtlingspolitik stellt nach einem Jahr Arbeit ihren Abschlussbericht "Chancen erkennen - Perspektiven schaffen - Integration ermöglichen" vor. Darin geben die Vertreter aus Politik, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft konkrete Empfehlungen zu Themen wie Unterbringung, Spracherwerb und Arbeitsmarkt.

Weiterlesen

Afrika im Licht der Wissenschaft

Wird der nächste Einstein aus Afrika kommen? Viele junge afrikanische Forscher warten nur auf ihre Chance, die globale Wissenschaftsbühne zu betreten. Eine erste Gelegenheit bot das Next Einstein Forum der Robert Bosch Stiftung. Denn um das wissenschaftliche Potenzial des Kontinents zu entfalten, braucht Afrika mehr als kluge Köpfe.

Weiterlesen

"Ukraine Calling ist Gold wert, auch für die deutsche Zivilgesellschaft"

"Nur Menschen, die die Situation in der Ukraine kennen, können der Ukraine auch helfen", sagt Alexander Wöll, Präsident der Europa-Universität Viadrina. Doch die Ukraine-Kompetenz in Deutschland sei bisher marginal. Zusammen mit der Robert Bosch Stiftung startet die Viadrina deswegen die Weiterbildung "Ukraine Calling" für Verantwortliche in Politik, Medien, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft.

Weiterlesen

Flüchtlinge nehmen ihre Zukunft selbst in die Hand

Es wird viel über sie gesprochen, jetzt melden sie sich selbst zu Wort: Auf einer internationalen Konferenz von Geflüchteten und Migranten in Hamburg sprachen die Betroffenen über Asylgesetze, die Lage an den Grenzen, Selbstorganisation und Sexismus. Dabei tauschten sie persönliche Erfahrungen aus und stellten klare Forderungen an Gesellschaft und Politik.

Weiterlesen

Der nächste Einstein soll aus Afrika kommen

Mit dem Next Einstein Forum im Senegal zeigte die Robert Bosch Stiftung erstmals das Potenzial der Wissenschaft in Afrika.

Weiterlesen

Filmförderpreis für internationale Zusammenarbeit

Drei neue Filmprojekte von Nachwuchsfilmemachern aus Deutschland und der Arabischen Welt sind während der Berlinale Talents mit dem Filmförderpreis 2016 der Robert Bosch Stiftung ausgezeichnet worden. Mit dem Preisgeld in Höhe von insgesamt 210.000 Euro können die jungen Filmemacher ihre Ideen gemeinsam produzieren.

Weiterlesen

Transatlantische Strategiegruppe "Constructing a New Western Ostpolitik"

Wie kann ein neuer westlicher Konsens in der Ostpolitik gefunden werden? Die Transatlantische Strategiegruppe, der außen- und sicherheitspolitische Experten angehören, entwarf Politikempfehlungen und präsentierte sie auf der Münchner Sicherheitskonferenz vor europäischen, amerikanischen und russischen Gästen.

Weiterlesen

Kurzfilm "Ave Maria" für den Oscar nominiert

Die Komödie "Ave Maria" gehört zu den fünf Nominierten für den Academy Award in der Kategorie "Short Film (Live Action)". Der Film wurde mit Hilfe des Filmförderpreises der Robert Bosch Stiftung für internationale Zusammenarbeit umgesetzt. Der Filmförderpreis ermöglicht deutschen und arabischen Nachwuchsfilmemachern, gemeinsame Projekte zu verwirklichen.

Weiterlesen