16th Berlin Debate on Science and Science Policy

‘It’s the diversity, stupid! A sustainable future requires all of its best research talents’

November 7, 2021


Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon

Jean-Pierre Bourguignon was the President of the European Research Council (ERC) from 2014 to 2019. Since July 2020, he serves as President ad interim of the ERC. He is a graduate of the École Polytechnique (1966) and holds a PhD in Mathematical Sciences (Global Differential Geometry) from Université Paris VII (1974). His previous and current positions include: Research Fellow, CNRS (1969-2013), now Directeur de Recherche emeritus; Professor, École Polytechnique (1986-2012); Director, IHÉS, Bures-sur-Yvette (1994-2013), now Honorary Professor. He was the president of the Société Mathématique de France (1990-1991) and the European Mathematical Society (1995-1998). Bourguignon was awarded the Paul Langevin Prize (1987) and the Prix du Rayonnement Français, sciences mathématiques, Académie des Sciences, Paris (1997). He holds honorary degrees from Keio University, Nankai University and The University of Edinburgh.


Professor Helga Nowotny

Helga Nowotny is Professor emerita of Science and Technology Studies, ETH Zurich and former President of the European Research Council. She has held teaching and research positions at universities and research institutions during her entire professional career in various countries in Europe and has been actively engaged in research and innovation policy at European and international level. Among other, she is currently a member of the Austrian Council for Research and Technology Development and Visiting Professor at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore; member of the Board of Trustees of the Falling Walls Foundation, Berlin; and Vice-President of the Lindau Nobel Laureate Meetings. 


Magdalena Skipper, PhD

Magdalena Skipper is Editor in Chief of Nature and Chief Editorial Advisor for Nature Research. A geneticist by training, she holds a PhD from University of Cambridge, UK. She has considerable editorial and publishing experience, having worked as Chief Editor of Nature Reviews Genetics, Senior Editor for genetics and genomics at Nature and Editor in Chief of Nature Communications. She is passionate about mentorship, research integrity in science and innovation in science publishing. As part of her desire to promote underrepresented groups in research, in 2018 she co-launched the Nature Research Inspiring Science Award for early-career female researchers