

14th Berlin Debate on Science and Science Policy

Who Owns Science? Reshaping the Scientific Value Chain in the 21st Century

Thursday, November 7, 2019

Berlin Office of the Robert Bosch Stiftung, Französische Str. 32, 10117 Berlin

List of Participants

Badiane, Ousmane, PhD

Director for Africa, International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), Washington, DC, USA

Becerril-García, Arianna, Prof.

Executive Director, Redalyc, Autonomous University of Mexico State, Toluca, Mexico

President of AmeliCA, Mexico City, Mexico

Bourguignon, Jean-Pierre, Prof.

President, European Research Council (ERC), Brussels, Belgium

Campbell, Philip, PhD, Sir

Editor-in-Chief, Springer Nature, London, United Kingdom

Chan, Leslie, Prof.

Associate Professor, Centre for Critical Development Studies, University of Toronto Scarborough, Toronto, Canada

Curry, Stephen, Prof.

Professor of Structural Biology, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom

Chair of the Steering Committee, San Francisco Declaration on Research

Assessment (DORA)



Dawson, Stephanie, PhD

Chief Executive Officer, ScienceOpen, Berlin, Germany

Felt, Ulrike, Prof. (Chair)

Professor of Science and Technology Studies, Head of the Department of

Science and Technology Studies, University of Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Gold, Richard, Prof.

James McGill Professor, Faculty of Law, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

Hampson, Glenn

Executive Director, Science Communication Institute (SCI), Seattle, USA Program Director, Open Scholarship Initiative (OSI)

Heber, Joerg, PhD

Editor-in-Chief, PLOS One, San Francisco, USA

Højgaard, Liselotte, Prof.

Professor and Chair, Department of Clinical Physiology, Nuclear Medicine and PET, Rigshospitalet, University of Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark

Member of the Board of Trustees, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Stuttgart, Germany

Joseph, Heather

Executive Director, The Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC), Washington, DC, USA

Murray, Susan

Executive Director, African Journals OnLine (AJOL), Makhanda, South Africa



Nowotny, Helga, Prof.

Chair, ERA Council Forum Austria, Vienna, Austria

Former President of the European Research Council (ERC), Brussels, Belgium

Packer, Abel L.

Co-Founder and Program Director, Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO), São Paulo, Brazil

Rehak-Nitsche, Katrin, Dr. (Host)

Senior Vice President Science and Research, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Stuttgart, Germany

Schiltz, Marc, PhD

President, Science Europe, Brussels, Belgium

Shearer, Kathleen

Executive Director, Confederation of Open Access Repositories (COAR), Montreal, Canada

Skipper, Magdalena, PhD

Editor-in-Chief, Nature, London, United Kingdom

Stampfer, Michael, Dr.

Managing Director, Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF), Vienna, Austria

Tennant, Jon, PhD

Research Fellow, Southern Denmark University Library, Odense, Denmark, and Center for Research and Interdisciplinarity, University of Paris, France

Founder, Open Science MOOC

Todd, Matthew, Prof.

Professor and Chair of Drug Discovery, UCL School of Pharmacy, University College London, London, United Kingdom

Founder, Open Source Pharma and Open Source Malaria



Torto, Nelson, Prof.

Executive Director, The African Academy of Sciences (The AAS), Nairobi, Kenya

Veldsman, Susan

Director, Scholarly Publishing Unit, Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf), Pretoria, South Africa

Wünning Tschol, Ingrid, Dr. (Host)

Senior Vice President Strategic Development, Robert Bosch Stiftung, Stuttgart, Germany

Zhang, Xiaolin, Prof.

Board Member and Chair, Strategic Planning Committee, National Science and Technology Library, Beijing, China

Chair, Academic Committee, National Science Library, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China

Coordination:

Dr. Sabine Jung, Director, Professional Philanthropy, Berlin, Germany

Documentation:

Jon Turney, Science Writer, Bristol, United Kingdom