Robert Bosch

Entrepreneur, Citizen, and Philanthropist


The Robert Bosch Stiftung was named after one of the greatest German entrepreneurs of the 20th century. Robert Bosch was also a liberal democrat who, as a citizen and benefactor, took up the social challenges of his era. He was the first employer in Germany to introduce the eight-hour day. He supported educational opportunities for citizens and was also politically active in support of Franco-German reconciliation and against anti-Semitism. The example he set as a responsible citizen continues to influence the Foundation’s activities today through his mission and establishment of the Foundation.

Robert Bosch Porträt
Robert Bosch GmbH, Historische Kommunikation

Born in Albeck near Ulm on September 23, 1861, as the eleventh of twelve children, Bosch was anything but a "typical" entrepreneur. Robert Bosch began to make his mark in the early years of the 20th century with his ideas on entrepreneurialism and philanthropy and with his political commitment. He wanted to make a contribution to society as a citizen and founder. Robert Bosch died on March 12, 1942, and was buried at Waldfriedhof Cemetery in Stuttgart.

The Entrepreneur

Following his apprenticeship as a precision mechanic, he worked for a number of companies in Germany and abroad. On November 15, 1886, he opened his “Workshop for Precision Mechanics and Electrical Engineering” in Stuttgart. This marked the beginnings of a global company.

One year later, Bosch built the world’s first magneto ignition device for the internal combustion engine. This device formed the basis of the company’s fast development: business expanded rapidly as a result of growing motorization around the world.

By the turn of the century Bosch had expanded his operations abroad, initially to Britain in 1898 and later to other European countries. By 1913 the company had offices in America, Asia, Africa, and Australia and was generating 88 percent of its turnover outside Germany.

Robert Bosch with employees in Stuttgart
Photo: Bosch

"I was always plagued by fears that someone would check my products and prove that I had made something of inferior quality. That is why I have always sought to only release work that has passed all objective tests, in other words, that is crème-de-la-crème." (Robert Bosch, 1918, Principles)

From the very beginning, Bosch was particularly keen for his staff to receive vocational training. Aware of his social responsibilities as an entrepreneur, he was one of the first employers in Germany to introduce the eight-hour working day in 1906. Other exemplary welfare measures for his workers were to follow.

In 1937, Robert Bosch changed his firm from a stock corporation into a limited liability company to prevent external manipulation of his company and vouchsafe its independence.

The Liberal Democrat

As a humanist who also believed that a healthy workplace would promote his company’s good performance, Robert Bosch was concerned with his associates’ health and well-being from the very beginning.

Robert Bosch Applause
Photo: Robert Bosch GmbH, Historical Communication

"Anyone who seeks his way in life with integrity and always remains true to his conscience deserves our respect, whether he be with us or against us." (quoted in: “Sei Mensch und ehre Menschenwürde”, Aufsätze, Reden und Gedanken von Robert Bosch, 1950)

Bosch spent a portion of his company’s growing revenues on social initiatives early on. During the First World War, he donated the lion’s share of profits earned with armament contracts to charitable causes.

After the end of World War I, Robert Bosch decided to play an active part in building Germany’s first democracy: He supported the "Deutsche Liga für den Völkerbund" (German Federation for the League of Nations) and became a founding member of the "Bund der Erneuerung des Reiches" (Federation for the Renewal of the Empire), which aimed to stabilize the republic on the basis of the Weimar Constitution.

His engagement with European politics focused on reconciliation between Germany and France, which he supported in a variety of ways, financially and with strong personal dedication. He believed that Germany’s reconciliation with France would be the key to lasting peace in Europe.

Robert Bosch was critical of National Socialism. He supported the resistance against Hitler and helped Jews by emplying them ot donating money for their emigration. Carl Goerdeler, whom the 20 July 1944 anti-Hitler conspirators intended to become the future German chancellor, was given a consultancy contract in 1937. He maintained contact with the German resistance with the knowledge and support of Robert Bosch and the "Bosch Circle". However, the company also employed forced laborers during the war.

The Commited Citizen and Benefactor

In 1910, Robert Bosch donated one million marks to Stuttgart University of Applied Sciences, thereby embarking on his "outstanding career as a philanthropist", as Theodor Heuss, who later became the first President of the Federal Republic of Germany, wrote in his 1946 biography "Robert Bosch: His Life and Achievements".

Both in directing his company and with regard to his foundation, endowments and other public activities, Robert Bosch always aimed to contribute to improving people’s conditions of life and play a part in shaping society and the state.

Robert Bosch’s aim was to support institutions and organizations he considered suitable to put his ideas into practice. He wanted to motivate others to use their own capabilities to respond to the challenges of the time. Rather than substituting for others, he preferred to inspire them to act themselves, an approach that also informed his attitude to government.

Bosch sought neither honors nor public acclaim for his philanthropic activities. His prime concern was to provide practical support, prompted by a sense of civic duty "to make his growing wealth bear fruit for public welfare in the widest sense".

Robert Bosch in the pharmacy of the Hospital, on the right the pharmacist Mr.Meng.
Photo: Bosch

Robert Bosch at the opening of the Robert Bosch Hospital in Stuttgart in 1940.

The most important Foundations and Endowments

Robert Bosch donates 1 million marks to Stuttgart University of Applied Sciences.

Robert Bosch donates 100,000 marks to the city of Stuttgart for World War I relief. Bosch sets up "Kriegshilfe von Handel und Industrie", a trade and industry-led war aid project with a fund of 300,000 marks and establishes a war hospital in Bosch factory buildings.

Robert Bosch founds "Homöopathisches Krankenhaus GmbH", a homeopathic hospital, with a donation of 400,000 marks. The "Schwäbische Siedlungsverein e.V.", a housing association, is awarded 1 million marks to create sanitary social housing.

Robert Bosch donates around 20 million marks for charitable purposes, including 13 million marks for the construction of the Neckar Canal. The interest from the Stiftung Neckarkanal, the foundation established for the project, is donated to the city of Stuttgart to alleviate social deprivation. An association for the advancement of gifted children receives 2 million marks, and the "Verein Homöopathisches Krankenhaus", a homeopathic hospital association, receives 2.4 million marks for the construction of a hospital.

The "Haus der Freundschaft" (House of Friendship) in Istanbul, Turkey, is built with the help of a donation from Robert Bosch. The "Hochschule für Politik", an educational project for a university of political science inspired by Friedrich Naumann, receives financial support.

Robert Bosch donates 300,000 marks to the "Deutsche Liga für den Völkerbund" (German Federation for the League of Nations) founded by Matthias Erzberger. Bosch contributes 50 percent of the funding to establish the "Verein zur Förderung der Volksbildung" (Association for the Advancement of Adult Education), which will later become the German adult education movement. Esslingen Mechanical Engineering College receives 250,000 marks for an extension, and the Arts and Crafts School is granted 80,000 marks for the award of scholarships.

From 1920 onwards, Robert Bosch introduces a range of social benefits for Bosch employees and their families.

Robert Bosch donates 200,000 marks to the "Zentralleitung für Wohltätigkeit" (Central Administration for Charitable Work) for emergency aid in Württemberg.

After the death of Karl E. Markel, Bosch grants an endowment to the foundation established in his name for the advancement of gifted children.

The "Robert Bosch Krankenhaus Stiftung", a hospital foundation, receives 5.5 million marks to build a homeopathic hospital in Stuttgart. The same year marks the start of support for Jewish charities through the "Walz-Hilfe" organization. Financial aid is also given to the "Deutsche Freiheits-, Widerstands- und Erneuerungsbewegung" (German Movement for Freedom, Resistance and Renewal). Bosch establishes the "Sonderkonto Forschungs- und Studienhilfe", a special fund providing financial support for research and education.

Between 1938 and 1940, Hans Walz donates substantial sums to Karl Adler of the "Jüdische Mittelstelle", an organization in Stuttgart that helps Jews emigrate from fascist Germany. The Bosch factories provide refuge to victims of racist and political persecution by the National Socialists.

On April 28, Robert Bosch officially opens the Robert-Bosch-Krankenhaus in Stuttgart.

Mission and Establishment of the Foundation

Robert Bosch died in Stuttgart on March 12, 1942. He was 80 years old. Prior to his death, he clearly expressed his vision for the long-term development of his business and philanthropic work.

Gründungsurkunde der Robert Bosch Stiftung
Photo: Robert Bosch GmbH

"It is my intention, apart from the alleviation of all kinds of hardship, to promote the moral, physical and intellectual development of the people." This was Robert Bosch’s message to Vermögensverwaltung Bosch GmbH (VVB), the company he had founded in the course of drawing up his will in 1921.

Between 1962 and 1964, the executors found a forward-looking way of reconciling the commercial and charitable objectives of the company founder. Vermögensverwaltung Bosch acquired the shares and simultaneously waived the concomitant right to vote, which was transferred to the newly founded Robert Bosch Industrietreuhand KG, which held an 0.01% interest in Robert Bosch GmbH.

The VVB was renamed Robert Bosch Stiftung GmbH in 1969. For their part, the heirs acted in the spirit of the founder, using the vast majority of the inheritance for their own charitable foundations. In his foundation guidelines, Robert Bosch cited examples of how his philanthropic vision should be realized: "Health, education, training, support for gifted children, international reconciliation and the like…"

The statute of the Robert Bosch Stiftung follows these injunctions and states as the foundation’s main purpose public health care. Other purposes include: international understanding, welfare, education, the arts and culture, and research and teaching in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences.

Robert Bosch

Unternehmer, Bürger und Stifter

 

Die Robert Bosch Stiftung trägt den Namen eines der erfolgreichsten deutschen Unternehmers des 20. Jahrhunderts. Robert Bosch war zugleich ein liberaler Demokrat, der sich als Bürger und Stifter den gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen seiner Zeit gestellt hat. Das Engagement Boschs war vielfältig: Er führte als Erster in Deutschland den 8-Stunden-Tag für seine Mitarbeiter ein, förderte Bildungsmöglichkeiten für die Bürger und engagierte sich politisch für die deutsch-französische Aussöhnung und gegen den Antisemitismus. Sein Vorbild als verantwortungsbewusster Bürger prägt durch Testament und Auftrag bis heute das Wirken der Robert Bosch Stiftung.

Robert Bosch Porträt
Robert Bosch GmbH, Historische Kommunikation

Robert Bosch wurde als elftes von zwölf Kindern am 23. September 1861 in Albeck bei Ulm auf der Schwäbischen Alb geboren. Der Firmengründer war alles andere als eine "typische" Unternehmerpersönlichkeit. Mit seinem Verständnis von Unternehmertum, philanthropischem Handeln und mit seinem politischen Engagement setzte Robert Bosch schon zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts Akzente. Robert Bosch wollte als Bürger und Stifter seinen Beitrag für die Allgemeinheit leisten. Robert Bosch starb am 12. März 1942 und wurde auf dem Stuttgarter Waldfriedhof beigesetzt.

Der Unternehmer

Nach seiner Lehre zum Feinmechaniker arbeitete Robert Bosch für verschiedene Unternehmen, sowohl in Deutschland als auch im Ausland. Der Beginn des Weltunternehmens Bosch datiert auf den 15. November 1886. An diesem Tag eröffnete Robert Bosch seine "Werkstätte für Feinmechanik und Elektrotechnik" in Stuttgart.

Ein Jahr danach baute Bosch den ersten Niederspannungs-Magnetzünder für Verbrennungsmotoren. Der Zünder wurde die Grundlage für den steilen Aufstieg seines Unternehmens. Mit der weltweiten Motorisierung wuchs das Geschäft rasant.

Schon vor der Jahrhundertwende dehnte Bosch sein Geschäft ins Ausland aus, zunächst 1898 nach Großbritannien und danach in weitere europäische Länder. 1913 besaß das Unternehmen Niederlassungen in Amerika, Asien, Afrika und Australien und erwirtschaftete 88 Prozent des Umsatzes außerhalb Deutschlands.

Robert Bosch mit Angestellten in Stuttgart
Foto: Bosch

"Es war mir immer ein unerträglicher Gedanke, es könne jemand bei der Prüfung eines meiner Erzeugnisse nachweisen, dass ich irgendwie Minderwertiges leiste. Deshalb habe ich stets versucht, nur Arbeit hinauszugeben, die jeder sachlichen Prüfung standhielt, also sozusagen vom Besten das Beste war." (Robert Bosch, 1918, Grundsätze)

Von Anfang an war Bosch die Aus- und Weiterbildung seiner Mitarbeiter ein besonderes Anliegen. Im Bewusstsein der sozialen Verantwortung des Unternehmers führte er bereits 1906 als einer der ersten in Deutschland den achtstündigen Arbeitstag ein. Weitere vorbildliche soziale Leistungen für die Mitarbeiter folgten.

1937 wandelte Robert Bosch die Aktiengesellschaft in eine GmbH um. Damit sollten Einflüsse von außen auf das Unternehmen verhindert und dessen Unabhängigkeit gewahrt werden.

Der liberale Demokrat

Von Beginn an sorgte sich Robert Bosch um Gesundheit und Wohlergehen seiner Mitarbeiter. Das entsprach nicht nur seinem humanistischen Weltbild, sondern auch seiner Überzeugung, dass Zufriedenheit und Wohlbefinden am Arbeitsplatz die Leistung des Unternehmens fördern.

Robert Bosch bekommt Applaus
Foto: Robert Bosch GmbH, Historische Kommunikation

"Wer aufrecht seinen Weg sucht, stets seinem Gewissen verantwortlich, dem dürfen wir unsre Achtung nicht versagen, er mag mit uns oder gegen uns gehen." (zitiert in "Sei Mensch und ehre Menschenwürde", Aufsätze, Reden und Gedanken von Robert Bosch, 1950)

Die wachsenden Erträge nutzte Bosch früh, um soziale Verantwortung zu übernehmen.

Gewinne aus dem Rüstungsgeschäft während des Ersten Weltkrieges stiftete er zum Großteil für gemeinnützige Zwecke. Am Ende des Krieges entschied er sich für eine aktive Mitarbeit am Aufbau der ersten deutschen Demokratie: Er unterstützte die "Deutsche Liga für den Völkerbund" und wurde Gründungsmitglied des "Bundes der Erneuerung des Reiches", der auf der Basis der Weimarer Verfassung die Republik stabilisieren wollte.

Im Zentrum seines europäischen Politikengagements stand die deutsch-französische Aussöhnung, die er in vielfältiger Weise finanziell und mit persönlichem Einsatz vorantrieb. In der Aussöhnung mit Frankreich sah Bosch den Schlüssel für einen dauerhaften Frieden in Europa.

Dem nationalsozialistischen Regime stand Robert Bosch kritisch gegenüber. Er unterstützte den Widerstand gegen Hitler und half verfolgten Juden, indem er sie einstellte oder Geld für ihre Emigration spendete. Carl Goerdeler, von den Widerständlern des 20. Juli als Kanzler vorgesehen, wurde 1937 mit einem Beratervertrag ausgestattet und knüpfte mit Wissen und Unterstützung von Robert Bosch und des "Bosch-Kreises" Kontakte zum deutschen Widerstand. Das Unternehmen beschäftigte aber während des Krieges auch Zwangsarbeiter.

Der engagierte Bürger und Stifter

1910 leitete Robert Bosch mit der Schenkung von einer Million Mark an die Technische Hochschule Stuttgart "sein schier unvergleichliches Mäzenatentum ein". So schreibt es Theodor Heuss, der spätere erste Bundespräsident der Bundesrepublik Deutschland 1946 in seiner Biographie "Robert Bosch - Leben und Leistung".

Wie mit der Wirtschaftstätigkeit seines Unternehmens verfolgte Robert Bosch auch mit seinen Stiftungen, Zuwendungen und den anderen öffentlichen Aktivitäten die Absicht, an der Verbesserung der Lebensverhältnisse seiner Zeit mitzuwirken und Gesellschaft und Staat mitzugestalten. Seine Unterstützung sollte anderen ermöglichen, ihre Fähigkeiten einzusetzen und auf die Herausforderungen der Zeit zu antworten. Handeln anderer nicht zu ersetzen, sondern anzustoßen, war auch seine Absicht gegenüber dem Staat.

Er selbst wollte für sein philanthropisches Handeln weder Ehre noch öffentlichen Ruhm. Für Robert Bosch stand die sachliche Hilfe im Vordergrund, und das tat er aus seinem bürgerlichen Pflichtgefühl heraus, ein "wachsendes Vermögen für Volkswohlfahrt im weitesten Sinne fruchtbar zu machen".

Robert Bosch in der Apotheke des Robert-Bosch-Krankenhauses.
Foto: Bosch

Robert Bosch während der Eröffnung des Robert-Bosch-Krankenhauses in Stuttgart 1940.

Die wichtigsten Stiftungen und Zuwendungen

Die Technische Hochschule Stuttgart erhält von Robert Bosch eine Million Mark.

Der Stadt Stuttgart werden 100.000 Mark zur Linderung der ersten Kriegsnot übergeben. Robert Bosch initiiert die "Kriegshilfe von Handel und Industrie", die er mit 300.000 Mark ausstattet, und lässt ein Kriegslazarett in den Fabrikgebäuden errichten.

Gründung der "Homöopathisches Krankenhaus GmbH", die 400.000 Mark von Bosch erhält. Der "Schwäbische Siedlungsverein e.V." wird zur Schaffung sozialen, gesunden Wohnraums mit einer Million Mark ausgestattet.

Robert Bosch spendet rund 20 Millionen Mark für gemeinnützige Zwecke, darunter 13 Millionen für den Ausbau des Neckarkanals. Die Zinsen aus der Stiftung Neckarkanal fließen der Stadt Stuttgart zur Linderung von sozialer Not zu. Der Verein zur "Förderung der Begabten" erhält zwei Millionen Mark, der "Verein homöopathisches Krankenhaus" 2,4 Millionen Mark zum Bau eines Krankenhauses.

Bosch ermöglicht durch eine Spende die Errichtung des "Hauses der Freundschaft" in Istanbul, Türkei (damals "Konstantinopel"). Die "Hochschule für Politik", ein Projekt von Friedrich Naumann, erhält einen finanziellen Zuschuss.

Robert Bosch stattet die "Deutsche Liga für den Völkerbund", die von Matthias Erzberger gegründet wurde, mit 300.000 Mark aus. Der Verein zur Förderung der Volksbildung, die spätere Volkshochschulbewegung, wird durch Bosch zu 50 Prozent finanziert. Die Maschinenbauschule Esslingen erhält zum Ausbau 250.000 Mark und die Kunstgewerbeschule 80.000 Mark zur Vergabe von Stipendien.

Robert Bosch ruft nach 1920 zahlreiche Wohlfahrtseinrichtungen für Bosch-Beschäftigte und ihre Familien ins Leben.

Die "Zentralleitung für Wohltätigkeit" erhält 200.000 Reichsmark von Bosch zur Durchführung der "Württembergischen Nothilfe".

Nach dem Tod von Karl E. Markel stattet Bosch die "Markelstiftung" zur Förderung von Begabten finanziell aus.

Die "Robert Bosch Krankenhaus Stiftung" bekommt 5,5 Millionen Reichsmark zur Errichtung des homöopathischen Krankenhauses in Stuttgart. Ab diesem Jahr werden jüdische Wohlfahrtseinrichtungen durch die "Walz-Hilfe" unterstützt. Auch die "Deutsche Freiheits-, Widerstands- und Erneuerungsbewegung" erhält finanzielle Hilfe. Dazu kommt das "Sonderkonto Forschungs- und Studienhilfe".

In den Jahren 1938-1940 übergibt Hans Walz an Karl Adler von der "Jüdischen Mittelstelle" in Stuttgart große Geldbeträge, um die Auswanderung inhaftierter Juden zu ermöglichen. Außerdem werden rassisch und politisch Verfolgte in den Betrieben untergebracht, um sie der Verfolgung durch die Nationalsozialisten zu entziehen.

Am 28. April eröffnet Robert Bosch persönlich das Robert-Bosch-Krankenhaus in Stuttgart.

Testament und Auftrag

Robert Bosch starb am 12. März 1942 im Alter von 80 Jahren in Stuttgart. Die Fortsetzung seines unternehmerischen und philanthropischen Wirkens hatte er zuvor weitsichtig geregelt.

Gründungsurkunde der Robert Bosch Stiftung
Foto: Robert Bosch GmbH

"Meine Absicht geht dahin, neben der Linderung von allerhand Not vor allem auf die Hebung der sittlichen, gesundheitlichen und geistigen Kräfte des Volkes hinzuwirken", so lautete Boschs Auftrag an die Vermögensverwaltung Bosch GmbH (VVB). Robert Bosch hatte diese Gesellschaft im Zuge der Abfassung seines Testaments 1921 gegründet.

Die Testamentsvollstrecker suchten nach einer dauerhaften Lösung für die unternehmerischen, familiären und gemeinnützigen Belange, auf die Robert Bosch sie in seinem Testament verpflichtet hatte. Die Vermögensverwaltung Bosch erwarb die zum Nachlass gehörenden Geschäftsanteile und verzichtete zugleich auf das damit verbundene Stimmrecht, das an die neu gegründete, an der Robert Bosch GmbH mit 0,01 Prozent beteiligte Robert Bosch Industrietreuhand KG überging.

Die VVB änderte 1969 ihren Namen in Robert Bosch Stiftung GmbH. Die Erben handelten ihrerseits im Geiste des Stifters, indem sie den weitaus größten Teil des Erlöses für eigene gemeinnützige Stiftungen einsetzten. Robert Bosch hatte in seinen Richtlinien Beispiele für die Verwirklichung seiner gemeinnützigen Absichten genannt: "Gesundheit, Erziehung, Bildung, Förderung Begabter, Völkerversöhnung und dergleichen…"

Die Satzung der Robert Bosch Stiftung folgt diesen Gedanken und nennt weiterhin die öffentliche Gesundheitspflege als eine zentrale Aufgabe. Weitere Zwecke der Stiftung sind: Völkerverständigung, Wohlfahrtspflege, Bildung und Erziehung, Kunst und Kultur, Geistes-, Sozial- und Naturwissenschaften in Forschung und Lehre.