An Officer in the Legion of Honor

Chairman of the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s Board of Trustees receives French award

In 1802, the French National Assembly established the Legion of Honor based on an idea from Napoleon Bonaparte. The Legion of Honor commends both civil and military accomplishments, and is an award that is still presented today, outlasting all of France’s previous governments, kings, and republics.

Recently, Dr. Kurt W. Liedtke, Chairman of the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s Board of Trustees, received one of these awards as a result of his commitment to German-French relations. The French ambassador to Germany, Maurice Gourdault-Montagne, presented the order of Officer of the Legion of Honor to Dr. Liedtke in the name of the French president on June 8, 2012, as part of an event held at the French embassy located on Pariser Platz in Berlin celebrating the ten-year anniversary of the program "FranceMobil".

Ideas Competition and Cultural Exchange

Dr. Kurt W. Liedtke (69) has been a member of the Robert Bosch Stiftung’s Board of Trustees since 2006, and one year later became Chairman of the Board. The attorney from Darmstadt received the French award for his activities promoting German-French exchange programs for students, scientists, and artists. With numerous projects supported by the Robert Bosch Stiftung – 62 alone in 2010 – Dr. Liedtke put the Foundation’s focus in this field on many new areas. These include the competition "On y va" for new ideas for volunteer work in both countries as well as promoting cultural exchange through the DVA-Stiftung. Besides that, he also expanded and enhanced the "DeutschMobil" and "FranceMobil" programs, which send cars of language tutors to schools all over Germany and France to get young people interested in and excited about learning the neighboring country’s language.

Picture Gallery

Photos: Ambassade de France en Allemagne / Mélodie Fenez
The French ambassador to Germany, Maurice Gourdault-Montagne (left), and Dr. Kurt W. Liedtke, chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Robert Bosch Stiftung